New PostGraduate (2015) joins TCD Geography (#2)

We welcome Mr Alex O Cinneide to the Department of Geography.

Alex will be working with Professor Davies.

Alex O Cinneide
Alex O Cinneide

I have been involved in the world of renewables for the last decade where I have been, from a very commercial perspective, working in the build out of renewable power. I have been fortunate enough that that activity has been throughout Europe, in all different forms of renewable technologies and in various different sizes; thus giving me a wide exposure to many of the factors effecting  the growth in practice of the sector.  That work has led me to my present interest in how renewable energy policy has worked in practice across the EU; if we normalise for country specific  characteristics  which policy has been the most successful, for whom and with what motivation. I remain active on the commercial side working with private sector participants in the financing of various renewable power technologies as well as a few NGOs focused on the area of sustainability.

I presently act as a Senior Advisor to Kleinwort Benson Bank in London, Senior Advisor and investment committee member of Paladin Capital Group in Washington DC and chair the Investment Committee of IndoChina Capital. Alongside those commercial activities I also serves on the board of the NGOs Educate Girls Globally in San Francisco, thirst4water in Beijing and the Biomimicry Institute also in San Francisco

I first attended Trinity from 1991 to 1995 where I studied History (some 20 years ago!) and since then have completed a MSc in Finance from London Business School and a MSc in Public Philosophy from London School of Economics.

Leave a Reply

