GEOGRAPHY STUDENT HELEN PECK WINS BLOG PRIZE

During Michaelmas term, Senior Sophister students were invited by the Careers Advisory Service to participate in a Blog Challenge in which students wrote a 500-word blog describing their summer work experience. EisnerAmper Ireland very kindly sponsored this Summer Blog Challenge 2016 and offered 1st, 2nd and 3rd place prizes to the winning writers.

See http://www.tcd.ie/Careers/vacancies/competitions/view.php?articleId=1109

Second place was awarded to Helen Peck – SS TSM Geography and Sociology.

Congratulations Helen!!!!!!!!!

prize

Extracts from her blog can be read below:
A Summer Full of Experiences

In the summer of 2016 I gained a place in the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Student Summer Programme which ran for twelve weeks and was a paid internship. My role was as Research Intern for the Research Team.

I gained invaluable experience helping to manage the administration of this research process and gained knowledge and skills through my presentations at Research meetings. I decided to set my objectives early, and to hone both ‘hard’ and ‘soft’ skills that are required in a successful career. From a ‘hard’ skill perspective, my IT skills improved vastly in data management with complex databases. Equally important to me were the ‘soft’ skills of team work. The Research Team was such a friendly and dedicated group of researchers, it was a pleasure, rather than a chore, to improve my communication and team-working skills with them.

My supervisors, Alice Wemaere and Aisling O’Connor, were inspiring mentors. They were always keen for me to attend Research Working Group meetings and present my internship work.  Presenting at the National Overview Committee Meeting increased my confidence in public speaking, a long-time personal goal of mine.

Final year at Trinity is now upon me, and I know the intern work has benefitted me as a future graduate.

My course currently does not include compulsory work placement, so I acted to fill this gap in practical experience. I have gained and improved many skills and have made invaluable connections in the areas of environmental conservation/protection for my future career.

 

Leave a Reply

